(517) 482-8835

Drunk Driving & DUI | Lansing Drunk Driving & DUI Attorney

Drunk Driving Attorney Lawyer In Lansing, MI

In Michigan you can be charged with drunk driving or DUI, driving under the influence, while operating a motorized vehicle. Those motorized vehicles include watercraft, all terrain vehicles (ATV) and motorcycles let alone your car or truck.

Drunk Driving and DUI is defined as operating a motor vehicle while your blood alcohol content (BAC) exceeds .08. Being charged with drunk driving or DUI can negatively impact your life and your daily routine. If you have been charged with this offense immediately seek legal representation from Lansing drunk driving & dui attorney, Mark Kamar.

It is extremely important to be made fully aware of the implications, your legal rights and options when facing this alarming hurdle. The State of Michigan has some of the hardest hitting penalties for drunk driving & DUI offenders. Beginning October 31, 2010, drivers with a (BAC) level above 0.17 are now subject to Michigan’s new super drunk driving & DUI law.

Michigan Drunk driving & DUI fines and penalties

  • License Suspension – Up to 6 Months
  • License Points - 6
  • Fine – From $100 to $500
  • Fine - $1,000 Driver Responsibility Fee for 2 Years
  • Jail Time – Up to 93 Days
  • License Suspension - Eligible for Restricted License after 30 Days

The super drunk driving & DUI penalties are even more severe and you can face stricter penalties which can include more jail time, heavier fines, longer license suspensions and mandatory alcohol treatment. You could also serve up to 360 hours of community service.

So how many drinks can you consume and still stay within Michigan’s legal blood alcohol limits? There are reference charts and calculators available but the most responsible choice is don’t drink and drive, you risk your future, your finances and your freedom. If you are charged with a drunk driving & DUI offense make your first phone call to Kamar Law at 517-482-8835.